Pheasant Hunting, Mount Rushmore, & Bitter Cold Oh My!

cleardot.gif

Let’s be honest, when I first opened my call to the South Dakota Rapid City LDS Mission…. it was not what I’d expected. At the time, I would have given anything to return to the amazing people of Africa. Or perhaps, I would re-kindle friendships with the saints in Cusco. Neither of those were what Heavenly Father had in mind for me though. He called me to labor in the South Dakota Rapid City LDS Mission.

Since that day that I opened my call… I get told one of the following: Ohhhh, South Dakota is the best place for pheasant hunting! The Mount Rushmore State! You better get some meat on those bones so you don’t freeze!

When I read where I was called to serve, I thought to myself “Well atleast it’s not the one place that I DIDN’T wanna go- Wyoming.” No offense to anyone that lives in or is from Wyoming! I just had camped there in highschool… it was too close to home… too cold… and yeah. Heavenly Father sure has a sense of humor. I looked at the map of my mission and found that I will be serving in North Dakota, South Dakota, Minnesota, Nebraska, and WYOMING 🙂

Since that day, I have received 2 or 3 witnesses that this is EXACTLY where the Lord would have me serve his children. One of the most powerful experiences was with my best friend and little brother Shawn. Over the past year, Shawn and I have spend more time together. We grew much closer through writing while I was in Peru and Ghana. I’ve grown to love and cherish my relationship with him more than ever before. In the past, our favorite shared hobby was debate and bugging each other (If you don’t believe it… my parents probably have blackmail photos/videos). Prior to leaving to the South Africa mtc, Shawn gave me the first priesthood blessing that he’s ever given. I’ve never seen tears stream down his face like I did that day.Whenever I start to wonder why in the world I’ve been called to a place with the best pheasant hunting, I bring myself back to this tender moment with my younger brother.

I may not know why I have been called to the South Dakota Rapid City mission, but I can’t wait to find out!!! 🙂 I pray that the Lord will help me prepare physically, spiritually, and emotionally. I pray that the people will be ready to open their hearts and let Christ change their lives. I bear my testimony that it doesn’t matter where you and I serve, but HOW you and I serve. I bear my testimony that God fulfills his promises in unexpected way. In the name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

NOTICE: This email message is for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain confidential and privileged information. Any unauthorized review, use, disclosure or distribution is prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply email and destroy all copies of the original message.

Leave a Reply

